Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications

  • Sitemap
  • japanese

Press Release

March 25, 2019

Adoption of Japanese Digital Terrestrial TV Broadcasting System (ISDB-T System) in the Republic of Angola

   The Republic of Angola (hereinafter referred to as “Angola”) decided on March 20, 2019 (Angola local time) to adopt the Japanese digital terrestrial TV broadcasting system (ISDB-T system) for its digital terrestrial TV broadcasting (DTTB). Angola is the 20th country  adopted the ISDB-T system.

1. Adoption of the ISDB-T system by the Angola Government

(1)  In 2013, Angola decided to adopt the European digital terrestrial TV broadcasting system. However, Angola reviewed its decision later and has been considering the adoption of the ISDB-T system. The Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications, Japan (MIC) has been also cooperating with Angola’s study on adopting the ISDB-T system.

(2)  As a result of the study, a presidential decree was announced in an official gazette on March 20 (Angola local time) to adopt the ISDB-T system in Angola.


2. MIC’s Future Efforts

  MIC welcomes Angola’s decision and intends to assist for Angola’s smooth migration to the digitalization of terrestrial TV broadcasting.


<Integrated Services Digital Broadcasting-Terrestrial (ISDB-T)>
  There are four major international standards for digital terrestrial TV broadcast (Japanese, European, US, and Chinese standards). The Integrated Services Digital Broadcasting-Terrestrial (ISDB-T) system (the Japanese digital terrestrial TV broadcasting system) has the advantage of achieving broadcasting for both fixed terminals and mobile terminals with a single transmitter and enabling network construction with efficient capital investment. In addition, the function of broadcasting to battery-operated mobile terminals allows viewers to receive broadcasting anywhere and even in times of disaster or blackout. Moreover, the function of emergency warning broadcasting is also effective as a countermeasure for disasters.
[Time of Adoption of ISDB-T System on a Country-by-Country Basis]
•  Brazil            June 2006
•  Peru             April 2009
•  Argentina      August 2009
•  Chile             September 2009
•  Venezuela     October 2009
•  Ecuador        March 2010
•  Costa Rica    May 2010
•  Paraguay      June 2010
•  Philippines    June 2010 (Reaffirmed in November 2013)
•  Bolivia           July 2010
•  Uruguay        December 2010
•  Botswana      February 2013
•  Guatemala    May 2013
•  Honduras      September 2013
•  Maldives       April 2014
•  Sri Lanka      May 2014
•  Nicaragua     August 2015
•  El Salvador   January 2017
•  Angola         March 2019

For further information about this press release, please fill in the inquiry form and submit it to MIC on the website

International Policy Division,
Global ICT Strategy Bureau, MIC
TEL: +81 3 5253 5920 / FAX: +81 3 5253 5924

Page Top