May 31, 2004

Ministry of Public Management,
Home Affairs,
Posts and Telecommunications

MPHPT announces areas for analog frequency conversion in June for the start of terrestrial digital broadcasting

The MPHPT has announced the areas, as shown below, that plan to start analog frequency conversion (reception measures) in June.

The frequency conversion, which started in February 2003, has been completed in 152 areas as of May 2004. In terms of households, about 1.37 million households (about 32% of the total) have had the conversion completed. The process is currently moving ahead smoothly according to plan.

In addition, the Association of Radio Industries and Businesses, which is the designated frequency change support agency, has been gradually setting up regional frequency change support centers nationwide as bases for frequency conversion since December 2002. With the opening of five centers, in Hokkaido, Tohoku, Shinetsu, Shizuoka and Tottori, in May, the nationwide installation of a system for frequency change support is now complete.

Areas where the frequency conversion will be introduced in June are as follows (nine areas, approximately 32,000 households):

Kanto: 2 areas in 2 prefectures (Part of Hitachi City in Ibaraki Prefecture, part of Ota City, Tatebayashi City and Oura-machi in Gumma Prefecture).

Hokuriku: 2 areas in 2 prefectures (Part of Himi City and Takaoka City in Toyama Prefecture, part of Noto-machi in Ishikawa Prefecture).

Kinki: 1 area in 1 prefecture (Part of Tanabe City in Wakayama Prefecture).

Chugoku: 2 areas in 2 prefectures (Part of Okayama City in Okayama Prefecture, part of Osaki Kamijima-machi and Kamagari-cho in Hiroshima Prefecture).

Shikoku: 2 areas in 1 prefecture: Part of Zentsuji City, Aji-cho and Takamatsu City in Kagawa Prefecture).

For details refer to the Japanese web site

For further information about this press release, please contact:

International Policy Division, International Affairs Department
Telecommunications Bureau
Ministry of Public Management, Home Affairs,
Posts and Telecommunications
Tel: (03) 5253-5920 Fax: (03) 5253-5924

Or visit to fill in the inquiry form.